top of page


Fellowships, Grants and Awards


Public Intellectuals Program (PIP) Fellow, National Committee on U.S.-China Relations 2023-2025

Best Comparative Policy Paper Award, American Political Science Association 2022

The Hewlett Foundation Grant for Center for Economy and Society (co-PI) 2021-2023

SAIS Political Economy Fund, Center for Economy and Society 2022- 2024

The Wilson China Fellowship, The Woodrow Wilson Center  2021-2022

The Catalyst Award, Johns Hopkins University  2019

John Templeton Foundation Grant  2016-2017

Alcoa Foundation Research Grant   2016-2018

The Diversity Scholar Award, University of Michigan National Center for Institutional  2014

Chiang Ching-Kuo Foundation Junior Scholar Grant   2014 – 2015

China National Social Science Foundation Grant (co-PI)   2014 – 2016 

Shorenstein Postdoctoral Fellowship, Stanford University   2013 -2014

Hayek Funds for Scholars, Institute for Humane Studies   2013

Association for Asian Studies (AAS) Travel Grant   2012

Social Science Research Council (SSRC) International Dissertation Research Fellowship   2010-2011

William A. Reinsch Fellowship, Johns Hopkins University   2011

Nicole Suveges Research Fellowship, Johns Hopkins University   2009-2010

Fei Xiaotong Research Fellowship, Fei Xiaotong Education Foundation   2008-2009, 2009-2010

OYCF-1990 Institute Joint Research Fellowship   2008-2009

The J. Brien Key Award, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, Johns Hopkins University   2008

The East Asian Studies Program Research Grant, Johns Hopkins University   2008, 09, 10, 11, 12

Institute for Global Studies (IGS) Summer Research Grant   2008

Johns Hopkins University Department of Political Science Graduate Fellowship   2006-2012

China Universities Overseas Alumni Fellowship for Outstanding Academic Achievement   2006

Peking University Award for Academic Achievement   2001, 02, 03, 04

Fei Xiaotong Social Science Fellowship for Academic Excellence  2003

The Award for Significant Contribution to International Communication, Peking University   2003

Mary Kay Scholarship   2002

Panasonic Scholarship   2001

bottom of page